The Naked Lunch

I made a sincere attempt to finish reading this book. I thought to myself, William Burroughs! He’s a beat guy. “Howl” spoke to me, I’m sure I’ll love this!… but alas, I only made it halfway through before my delicate sensibilities forced me to jump ship. There were passages I enjoyed, bits that reached out, but for the most part it was like being on a homosadistic acid trip. There were actually parts that made me feel sick to my stomach. It was akin to the film “Requiem for a Dream” for me, if you will, with the author being Jennifer Connelly’s character. For anyone who has trouble imagining what drug induced insanity would feel like though, this book would be very useful :)

And although I fundamentally don’t believe in banning books, I do “understand” why this book was initially banned. I certainly will be taking measures to make sure it doesn’t fall into the impressionable paws of young Merlin!

Leave a Reply

