Nine Stories

I have yet to meet a bookworm who doesn’t know J.D. Salinger for Catcher in the Rye, myself included. In fact, I sort of fell in love with Holden once upon a time. I have no idea what took me so long to seek out J.D.’s other work, but I’m so glad the fates intervened during my last binge buy at Half Price Books and I stumbled upon this!

My two favorite stories of the collection were “A Perfect Day For Bananafish” and “For Esme– with Love and Squalor”, mostly because I dig the darkness of them paired with the humor of the characters, who are–by the way, timeless personalities. The last story “Teddy” is rather haunting.  I reread the last page multiple times before I accepted it.  Undoubtedly a book I will be rereading!

Five stars!

 

Leave a Reply

