The Idiot Girls’ Action-Adventure Club

The fates conspired to give me a break at work today, and enough downtime to finish this delightful little book which had me laughing out loud all day long. It’s essentially the sort of book my friends encourage me to work on, short little stories of the bizarre and disastrous everyday happenings of the author, Laurie Notaro. All of which, coincidentally, I could see happening to me. Difference being that until recently I only spouted off my ridiculous misfortune to bemused friends and inconvenienced family members. Let’s be honest, my friends are often inconvenienced as well.  Anywho, now I just blog and she’s a paid humor columnist and published. She’s clearly winning. I would like to be her prodigy. The voice of the next generation of single female calamity.

Are you there Laurie Notaro? It’s me, Natasha.

Laurie?

I know this sounds crazy, but I just wanted to assure you that we would be the best of friends if we were properly acquainted. I also drink whiskey and find myself in ridiculous situations. I realize that this book was published ten years ago and you have probably gotten your act together by now. For my own sake, I hope so. It might be more appropriate to say that I am certain your twenty-something self and my twenty-something self would have been the best of friends. Sometimes these bonds are just narrowly missed by the distances of time and place, however.

Whaddaya say?

Luckily, the opportunity to raise a protege is still available, Laurie!

Seize the day!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

****EDIT******

12/23

I emailed this blog to the address listed on Laurie’s web site. Yes, yes I did.

This is what I got in return:

“Oh you are hilarious!!
I’m cranky and old now and can’t hold my liquor! Thank you so much for reading the book and taking the time to drop me a note, it was great to hear from you and I enjoyed your blog!! Have a great, great holiday, Nat!!
Ho Ho Ho,
Old Laurie “
Aghhhhhh!
4 Comments

Leave a Reply

